Tips 64

Track when messages are delivered or read

You can track when messages you send are delivered or read by recipients. You receive a message notification as each message is delivered or read. The contents of the message notification are then automatically recorded on the Tracking tab of the original message. You can automatically delete message notifications in your message list.

 

What do you want to do?

Be notified when messages are delivered

  1. On the Tools menu, click Options.

  2. Click the Preferences tab.

  3. Click E-mail Options, and then click Tracking Options.

  4. Select the Request a delivery receipt for all messages I send check box.

Note   To be notified about a single message, click Options in the message, and then select the Request a delivery receipt for this message check box.

 

Be notified when sent messages are read

  1. On the Tools menu, click Options.

  2. Click the Preferences tab.

  3. Click E-mail Options, and then click Tracking Options.

  4. Select the Request a read receipt for all messages I send check box.

Note   To be notified about a single message, click Options  in the message, and then select the Request a read receipt for this message check box.

 

Review tracking results

  1. In the Sent Items folder, open the original message you are tracking.

  2. Click the Tracking tab, and then view the results.

 

Automatically delete notifications of delivered and read messages

  1. On the Tools menu, click Options, click E-mail Options, and then click Tracking Options.

  2. Select the Process receipts on arrival check box.